Tech Tip - Sending A WhatsApp "View Once" Messages

Date: Jun 29, 2022

Tech Tip - Sending A WhatsApp "View Once" Messages

If you want to add a layer of privacy to sending a photo or video in WhatsApp, for example a photo of a password, you can add a “view once” designation before sending the message.  This means that the photo or video disappears as soon as the recipient has opened the message and closed the media viewer. Here is how to use this feature:

  • Open WhatsApp
  • Open a chat to an individual or group
  • Tap Attach (the paperclip symbol)
  • Either take a photo or video with the WhatsApp application or select an existing one from your phone image gallery
  • Tap on the view once symbol (a number one inside a half dotted out circle)
  • Tap "Send"
  • You’ll see an "Opened" receipt in the chat thread when the recipient has viewed the photo or video